Posted by: lchatwin | January 28, 2008

All in the mind

It’s 12.50am on Monday night and I have had a pretty awful day. I am not after sympathy; I’m simply sharing and hoping to get some stuff off my mind so I can finally get some decent sleep. I wrote the piece about honoring your father and mother and realized tonight just how far I’ve got to go.

I preached yesterday and got a really good response. I’m a pretty good preacher (even if I say so myself), I know that God has a call on my life to full-time ministry at some point, I have great friends, fantastic children, a very supportive wife, a beautiful home and a job. So why do I feel so bad? Why do I feel like I have nothing? Why can’t I pray?

Depression is a strange illness that creeps in unawares and before you know it you’re trapped much like the frog in the boiling water. The trigger for me tonight was I wanted/needed someone to hug me. For want of a hug I felt all of my security going down the toilet. Of course I know it’s “All in the mind…” and if only I could step outside and look objectively at my situation and stop thinking of myself all of the time and fix my eyes on heaven etc. etc.

But right now I feel lousy and wanted someone to know even if it was just words on a blog. I know that my redeemer lives. Tonight we will huddle in bed and He will hold me and sometime soon I’ll realize that I am loved.


Responses

  1. Hey les,
    will be praying for you.
    Megan

  2. One hug on the way.

    Times like that remind us of our fragility, which is a good thing in the long run, but boy can it suck when you are in the midst of the slump.

  3. It does suck but having to lean on God and listen to my wife does me good in the long run.

  4. Hey Les…I know exactly where you are coming from – I’ve just been there myself. 2007 was a bad year. Remembering my father sexually abused me, coming to terms with that emotionally, seeing a psych etc too, then in early Oct I end up in hospital with a blood clot in my lung. My life stopped for 3 months. Two weeks post hospital, I realised the only thing I had going before this was my health and fitness, then that was taken away too. Then my life hit depression huge and it was a struggle day by day to carry on. I had a Job experience when everything was stripped from me and lots of learning and suffering took place. It was needed.

    I now am on the otherside of that and I am so glad that I wrote in my journal at that deepest darkest time ‘God help’ because I couldn’t reach out, I couldn’t speak out. God came and helped me conquer. I’m back to seeing a psych once a week to help through the trauma of the parent rejection abuse stuff – still learning lots about myself. All important.

    We can gain much from these experiences. It really comes down to us moving forward to press towards that goal / towards Jesus for healing and restoration. God’s at the line wanting us to come – we just gotta say ‘yes’.

    Life is hard, compared to what?

    If you ever want to catch up for a drink Les – seems like you and I have travelled on similar journeys.

  5. Thanks Melissa. I will email you about coffee. I certainly would like a sympathetic, empathetic ear.

  6. “great friends, fantastic children, a very supportive wife, a beautiful home and a job”

    doesn’t seem like there’s much else you need to pray for!


Leave a comment

Categories